After you've closed your account

There are a couple of reasons why a Trade Me account might be closed. Either we close it because our terms and conditions have been breached, or a member has asked for the account to be closed.

What happens once it’s closed?

 

  • You can’t log in or use Trade Me anymore.
  • Your feedback is generally removed from the site after 45 days (unless the member has requested the account closed).
  • Your member profile also becomes invisible to other members.
  •  

What happens to my personal information, can you just delete it?

We retain your history of using the site, as under the Tax Administration Act we need to retain financial information for at least seven years, meaning we can’t just delete your transactional history straight away.

The Secondhand Dealers and Pawnbrokers Act also requires certain details of any person offering secondhand items for sale to be retained for 12 months. For business purposes, we need to retain details of our own agreements with members who have registered with us and accepted our terms and conditions.

We also need to be able to use information for security purposes. For example, a person who's been sell-banned for not delivering an iPhone may ask for their account to be closed, with the intention of creating a new account and getting around our systems. We need to be able to see their previous activity on the site to help resolve any issues that may arise, and help prevent them from being a mischief-maker in the future.

There are instances where we’ll consider deleting personal information though. These are looked at on a case-by-case basis, taking into account any security considerations and our legal obligations to retain certain information.

If you do want to close your account and delete any personal information, please get in touch.

Want further assistance?

  • Call us on 0900 87233Available 24/7. Calls cost $1.99 + GST per minute.
  • Email us your questionWe aim to respond within 1-2 days.